It’s so easy: usability & user-experience in web applications’ development

Its So Easy - Cover

It’s so easy: usability & user-experience in web applications’ development is my second book and it cost me 6 months to finish it.

In china, there’re so many graphic designers don’t know (or have misunderstanding with) the User-Interface Design. In this Web 2.0 time which emphasizing interaction and user-experience, you don’t know these stuff means you’re outdated. And the Chinese design will hardly achieve NOTHING if there’re too many outdated designers in China. I myself had no idea about UI Design just 2 years ago, but I found its importance when I came into contact with it at first sight. It’s a treasure the knowledge I learned in this field and it’ll be nice if I can share this treasure with more people. So this is the original intention that I wrote the book.

This book is not like those highly professional monographs. My purpose is to lead more people to get on the doorstep, to have a complete picture of the UI/UE field. However, the book is still very all-around and dealing with everything about UI/UE.

I found those dry teaching materials are very disgusting when I was learning. I know those writers want to teach something, but they should think about the experience of the learners (or readers). This is the very meaning of Usability. Those hardly-reading books have very low usability and they’re NOT good books. So I tried my best to make the words more carefree, conceive many interesting scenes and illustrations and narrate the theories like in a tea party when I was writing the book.

I’m proud of that all the illustrations in this book are drew by myself. The colorful pages worth everything I paid out during the illustrating.

Many thanks to these people! They’re:

  • Rokey (creative conductor of Eico Design)
  • White Crow (famous consultant of product design)
  • Ms. Tian (UI Design Center manager of SIEMENS Corporate Technology)
  • H++ (UE Designer in ATC Studios, Microsoft China)
  • Peter Qu (UE Engineer in Ourgame)

I hope they’ve received the books I sent out.

Following is the brief introduction of the book written by myself (the original is Chinese):

In this book, I’ll talk with you guys about the application of Human-Computer Interaction (HCI for short) in Web Design field.

As you may see, this is a technology theories book with…carefree words and funny illustrations.

That’s right, technology theories. We’ll discuss about the relationship between the users and the interface of the softwares (or web sites) – yes YOU did the interface, but USERS use the software – so don’t think you are fearless, let’s defer to the attitude of the users. From this book you’ll know how’s the process going, what should I notice, and finally success will come when conditions are ripe.

This book is for everybody especially those UI designers who were not trained with the HIC and Usability study, and it’s a tutorial and guide book. You needn’t recite those tongue-twister-like vocabularies, only you have to know is “what should I do” then solve the problems. It itslef is a great principle of HIC – “It’s easy to learn, then it’s easy to use.”

Now you see. This book is neither a dramatic fiction, nor a poem-like prose. But I still hope it can bring joy for us – learning essentially is not a boring thing, but many people made it boring. Mass of technology theories book writers they just starighten their clothes and sitting properly like some serious teachers…It can’t be denied that we should be precise when facing the academic issues, but precise is NOT serious. Those teachers who can amuse everybody in the teaching are great teachers.

Maybe I haven’t done well yet, but I’m trying.

It’s so easy: usability & user-experience in web application’s development
By: Mess
Price: ¥79.0
Paperback: 301 pages
Publisher: Tsinghua University Publish House; 1 edition (June 1, 2008)
Language: Chinese
ISBN-13: 978-7-302-16999-4

You can find this book on Amazon: http://www.amazon.cn/dp/bkbk834363

Some photos helping you get a quick picture:

3 回应 to “It’s so easy: usability & user-experience in web applications’ development”


  1. 1 Brandon 12月 14, 2009 11:37 下午

    Great blog its very helpful and easy to understand. For more ideas or just to add links check out http://www.mofikiworldwide.com/blog.php There are blogs there about website design, development, Search engine optimization, and hosting. Most of these blogs are tutorials that you can repost just be sure to reference the page you get them from if adding them to your blog. Again thank you for this blog.

  2. 2 James 9月 17, 2010 4:43 下午

    “No matter what tools you use, it will still be necessary to use human judgement to figure out if a web page is accessible. For example assessment tools can tell you if there is some alt text missing. But it cannot tell you if the alternative representation makes sense and will be of use to those for whom it is intended. – Michael Burks”


留下评论




About Mess

Mess is a designer and a writer/translator in Graphic/UI/Flash fields. Also he plays guitars in several Rock N’ Roll bands in spare time.

He is now living in Beijing, China.